It’s Because TAIWAN-It That Way

F4, San Chai, Dao Ming Zi… You can think and associate these names to Taiwan especially if you were born in the 90’s or just someone who heard about the Taiwanese Series Meteor Garden. I was an avid fan back then, and so the extension of the FREE visa going to the said country was good news for me. Before it’s too late, I booked a five (5) days and four (4) nights trip!

Taiwan is 1,200 kilometers away from the Philippines, or a one (1) hour and 50 minutes ride by plane. This place is not yet a first world country, but during my visit, I can tell that they are doing well and probably I will not be surprised if one day, Taiwan will be in lined with Singapore and Malaysia, especially when it comes to their transportation (e.g. connected trains), waste management, not to mention that their technology-related industries (e.g. semiconductors) are progressing as well.

How do I prepare for my trip?

Aside from my plane ticket, I have a long list of “to bring” and “to do” going on an out-of-the country trip. Allow me to enumerate the essentials that I always ensure to have at least a month prior to my travel date.

Accommodations

AirBnB is one of the best friends of travelers like me. I had two (2) accommodations in Taiwan which are in Taichung and in Taipei. For my convenience, which you might also like to consider, I always go to the farthest destination first to save energy and time. Per experience, being on an out-of-the-country means a lot of walking, running, and sometimes getting lost to unknown places.

Other option other than AirBnB, is the Capsule Hotel similar to that of Japan such as Hey Bear and Space Inn, both in Taipei.

Pocket Money

Ideally, you would exchange your Philippine Peso to US Dollar, but my friends told me that it’s ok to exchange peso to Taiwan Dollars directly, and so I did. I just tried, but I still recommend PH Peso to US Dollar.

Surprisingly, I only spent P10, 000 (cash on hand) during this trip (pasalubong included). Detailed estimated expenses will be discussed on the latter part of this blog post.

Mobile Applications

I found a good write-up about the helpful mobile applications that you can install for your Taiwan trip. Below are the apps that worked for me from the recommendations:

  • Taiwan Rail Timetable – provides real-time train schedules for Taiwan High Speed Rail (THSR) and Taiwan Railway (TRA).
  • Go! Taipei Metro – provides train route map in Taipei (both THSR and TRA).
  • Google Map – a very helpful app during my trip. Directions provided were all accurate.
  • Klook and KKDay – applications where you can pre-book your activities in Taiwan.
  • Splitwise – this is a useful app that allows you and your friends to track expenses and payables. This worked for my friends who traveled in group.

Pre-Book Your Activities

The following are the activities that you can pre-book via Klook or KKDay (whichever cheaper):

  • Wi-fi Connection – Having a wi-fi connection is highly recommended in Taiwan. Their tourism-friendly amenities are still for improvement particularly the lack of English translation on them. You can rent a wi-fi via Klook and pick it up at the airport upon arrival.
  • Taipei 101 – Climbing up to the 2nd tallest building in the world is highly recommended. Booking for Taipei 101 allows you to ride in the elevator that will bring you to the 87th floor for 37 seconds only.

There are different types of service that you can choose from the said apps including booking of group tours.

Where to go in Taiwan?

I’ve visited three (3) cities in Taiwan namely Taichung, Chiayi, and Taipei, in order. Below are the list of estimated expenses and itinerary which you can use as guide for your trip:

Taiwan Itinerary

Other Tips:

  • Take advantage of the mobile check-in.
  • Always check bus and train trip schedule so you can plan your trip efficiently. They are always on-time, and amazingly, estimated fares by taxi drivers are accurate even without using a meter.
  • Bring water bottle and refill at water fountains.
  • Bring umbrella as often as possible. Better be ready for unexpected rains especially in Yehliu, Shifen, and Jiufen. Hence, you may not be able to wear your white shoes as well. I’ve learned my lesson (hehe).
  • Allot one (1) day for your shopping. There were no notable pasalubong from Taiwan (for me at least) aside from milk tea, but roaming around the market is a good experience, plus you get to window shop to their famous street foods.
  • Try the Ice Cream Peanut Roll in Shifen.

Although I can’t really distinguish who are pure-blooded Taiwanese, by experience, they are friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Taiwan is a safe country. And if you’re looking for an affordable tour on a foreign land, this country may be best for you to start with.

9 thoughts on “It’s Because TAIWAN-It That Way

Leave a comment